Just so everybody knows, I am putting this out there because Traffic Splash has a renegade member. There is a slight chance the database at Traffic Splash has been comprimized but knnowing how well the ship is run over there it is doubtful. This article is for information gathering purposes and should be taken as such. It is not intended to defame Traffic Splash…

So, I get this AWeber list join confirmation e-mail:

Return-Path:
Delivered-To: XXXXXX@trackahit.XXX
Received: (qmail 54786 invoked by uid 12660); 11 May 2009 18:38:05 -0000
Received: from unknown (HELO smtp-confirmations-w-01.aweber.com) ([207.106.200.17])
(envelope-sender
)
by 130.94.177.116 (qmail-ldap-1.03) with SMTP
for
; 11 May 2009 18:38:05 -0000
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha1; d=aweber.com; s=dkim_s1024; c=relaxed/simple;
q=dns/txt; i=@aweber.com; t=1242067084;
h=Sender:Subject:Date:From:List-Unsubscribe:To:Content-type;
bh=DpRH+wMNhaEa/dvrL3T+i/y4RCs=;
b=Tq1Z/DCo44IygEAL35s9B5oUOl5pNG4dNwkvFCiKSkY0OTpvB9pB4fJyL8USEh2P
qzSs8DxJEsv8MNfuV8UieiwxzXXj0Idq+OOJDNcwbILWl8EAgcc72OqdKremqRv/
FacZXURO4uIAHj+EtJygoee7cYg3zH9+yXnoOVvVIhw=;
Received: (qmail 15449 invoked by uid 0); 11 May 2009 14:38:04 -0400
Date: 11 May 2009 14:38:04 -0400
Message-ID: <20090511183804.15448.qmail@aweber.com>
To: “Megaman”
From: “Leonard Oram”
Sender: verifications@aweber.com
X-Mailer: AWeber 3.2
X-Subscription: Subscribed on 05/11/2009, via web form, by 72.186.85.4, from https://www.aweber.com/users/leads/add?success=1
X_Id: 861441:confirmation:XXXXXX@trackahit.XXX
List-Unsubscribe:
X-Remote-Host: 72.186.85.4
Content-type: text/plain
Subject: Response Required: Please confirm your request for information.
X-ClamAV: clean

We received your request for information from the faithman group. Before we begin sending you the information you requested, we want to be certain we have your permission.

———————————————————–
CONFIRM BY VISITING THE LINK BELOW:

http://www.aweber.com/z/c/?XXX6mobsyXXXXXXu3c7q909

Click the link above to give us permission to send you information. It’s fast and easy! If you cannot click the full URL above, please copy and paste it into your web browser.

———————————————————–
If you do not want to confirm, simply ignore this message.

Thank you

3370 So. Viscaria Way, Homosassa, FL 34448, USA

Request generated by:
IP: 72.186.85.4
Date: May 11, 2009 14:37 EDT
URL: https://www.aweber.com/users/leads/add?success=1

I don’t know how this person did it but he was able to get my Traffic Splash email address (Only used with Traffic Splash) and my user name. Then this person used that data to subscribe me to a mailing list at Aweber. If you look at the data above you can see that the IP address “72.186.85.4″ was used to do the subscription of my email address. This is not my IP Address!!! I am not located in Florida!

Talk about misguided ethics! There might be quite a few people that have clicked on the confirmation link and subscribed to a e-mail list not assoicated with Traffic Splash thinking that it may have come from Traffic Splash. Sneaky Huh?

Anyway, after I post this article I am going to pop over to Traffic Splash and report this person via the support ticket system. I am also going to ask somebodyfrom over there to leave a comment or two here with their opinion about this method of Internet marketing. It would be cool if somebody would report this person to AWeber seeing they are abusing their site as well. I am not a member of AWeber otherwise, I would do the reporting myself.

I do encourage everybody to contact this spammer and let this person know that subscribing people to mailing lists without their permission really sucks ass! You may contact Leonard Oram by clicking on This Link – E-mail to Leonard Oram. Let Leonard Oram know how to do things right.

In closing, I’d like to welcome Leonard Oram to the WWW. Isn’t it great to be a newbie? Of all the people you have at your finger tips to screw with you selected me! The last person on Gods’ Green Earth somebody should subscribe to an email list without permission – LOL! Enjoy!

Take Care,
Phil